doctorsnanax.blogg.se

Copied excel file locked for editing
Copied excel file locked for editing












copied excel file locked for editing
  1. #Copied excel file locked for editing how to
  2. #Copied excel file locked for editing windows

Edit: that won't help much now that I think of it, they'll still have to upload the latest version again.

#Copied excel file locked for editing how to

I know that the interal lock is the problem since when I use the sharepoint administrator software to go look up the document i can see the internal lock. I was wondering if I wrote something to use the object model to remove this lock would it work? Then I can instruct the site administrator how to use it. I don't know what could be happening or if connectivity is actually dropped because I never notice losing connectivity to anything at any other time nor do your sysadms see anything. Waiting 10 minutes is not acceptable either. Deleting the content.mso is unnacceptable since usually they have saved a more recent copy and it is in the drafts folder. Has anyone fixed this? The more people in our organization start using SharePoint the more often this is happening and the more I am getting yelled at by users. but it's the likeliest story I've heard so far. So I'm not completely convinced this is the cause. when my users encounter the problem, sometimes a few seconds later (not 10 minutes), the problem goes away. Perhaps even when the application exits normally, sometimes the write lock is left around, i.e., a Microsoft bug. I have not seen any evidence that our users are experiencing a crash beforehand.

copied excel file locked for editing

They're just opening a SharePoint file and getting the "locked by yourself" error. However, my clients are not saying anything about Word or Excel crashing. correct? Based on the KB article, it sounds like this 10-minute write lock applies only if the editing program has terminated abnormally, leaving the write lock in place. I assume the write lock is being removed when Word exits. Nothing stopped me: I did not see a "locked for editing" message. Just now, I opened a Word document, made a small edit, and saved. Thank you Xue-Mei: Let me see if I understand this correctly. PS-We've had no troubles with our SharePoint Server 2010 farm which was deployed after our solution was found. If nothing else, you mayat least see that the traffic is all clear and can scratch my solution off your list. There may be something else in your network (a switch, router, hub, etc.) that is causing problems with a request somewhere along the line. The file was failing. Even though you have a single WFE, I would still recommend inspecting the network traffic. The networked request from Office to SharePoint to lock/unlock Watching the network traffic with Fiddler is what led us to our load balancer as the culprit. It was a huge headache for me when I was getting this problem, too. Due to the limited feature set, Office Web Apps rarely works as an enterprise-wide

copied excel file locked for editing

The feature set available in Office Web Apps can not compare to the features available in the client app. I agree: Office Web Apps is not a viable solution to this problem.

#Copied excel file locked for editing windows

Any ideas? Other details: - SharePoint servers (1 front-end, 1 query, 1 indexing) are all Windows 2003 Server - SQL Server 2008 on database server - Clients are mostly Windows XP - Our versioning model is: - Content approval: not required - Document Version History: Create major versions - Require Check Out: No It's almost as if some kind of intermittent race condition is happening, where the document gets locked too early.? We are completely stumped. If the same user opens the same file again 1 minute later, the problem might be gone, even though nothing changed. The problem is, nobody else is editing this document, and the identified user ('domainname\yourname') is the name of the current user (the person opening the document right now)! This is not "user error", e.g., the same user editing the file from two different computers, or the file being checked out. On our SharePoint 2007 SP1 farm, intermittently, when a user opens a Microsoft Office document (usually Excel) for editing by single-clicking its name in IE, the following error dialog mysteriously occurs when Office opens: File in Use myfile.xlsm is locked for editing by 'domainname\yourname' Open 'Read-Only' or click 'Notify' to open read-only and receive notification when the document is no longer in use.














Copied excel file locked for editing